Guys, how do you feel about your girlfriend paying the bill?

I’ve been dating my girlfriend for just over a year now. On our first couple of dates, I paid, because I was raised to believe that’s the guy’s responsibility.

Eventually I probably would have asked her if we could split, since we have similar incomes. But as it turned out, I didn’t have to. A few weeks into our relationship, I reached for the check one day and she protested, “Tim, I’m not a prostitute!”

I stared at her for a moment, not knowing whether to laugh or to blush. But since then, we split everything approximately evenly, although neither of us keeps track.

As we started getting more serious, I mentioned one day that I would probably want to home school our children, since I appreciated being homeschooled so much. She turned to me with a twinkle in her eye and said, “Alright, you can stay home with them!”

I had to think that over, but I decided that if it makes the most sense to both of us when the time comes, I’m totally willing to be a stay-at-home dad.

But anyway, to answer the question more directly, I appreciate having a girlfriend who is independent, and who sometimes puts me in my place when I’m not expecting it. I wouldn’t date someone who expected me to do everything.

Source:

Timothy

Quora

 

Leave a Reply

